Share:
 
eISBN: 9781681461533

Root of the Tudor Rose

by Mari Griffith

"Immensely readable and compelling…Highly recommended!" Alison Weir, bestselling author of The Six Wives of Henry VIII

“A stunning first novel…this new treatment of Catherine de Valois’ story will be a delight to lovers of historical fiction.” Bernard Knight CBE author of the ‘Crowner John’ historical mysteries

For fans of Philippa Gregory and Hilary Mantel comes Mari Griffith's debut novel Root of the Tudor Rose.

This is the story of a passionate romance and a secret marriage which gave its name to the most famous royal dynasty in the history of Great Britain: the Tudors.

When King Henry V and his bride, Catherine de Valois, are blessed with the birth of a son, their happiness is short-lived. Henry’s unexpected death leaves Catherine a widow at the age of twenty-one. Then her father, King Charles of France, also dies, and her son inherits both crowns. Henry VI, King of England and France, is just ten months old and needs all his mother’s watchful care to protect him from political intrigue.

The queen, an attractive young widow, is a foreigner at the English court and now finds herself regarded with suspicion, particularly by the Duke of Gloucester, who will seemingly stop at nothing to protect his own claim to the throne. But lonely, vulnerable Catherine has found true friendship with another foreigner at court, a young Welshman named Owen. Their friendship deepens, but their liaisons must be kept secret at all costs, because Catherine, Queen of England and forbidden to remarry, is in love with a servant …

 
Buy eBook:

$2.99
eBook purchase options:
 
 
 
 
About the author Mari Griffith
 
 

Mari Griffith became well-known as co-presenter of BBC TV show Music Time and as resident singer on BBC radio.She also had her own TV series and was later a successful director and producer. Her debut novel Root of the Tudor Rose has been internationally acclaimed and has remained in the historical novel bestseller charts for several months.


View Profile

 
Books by Mari Griffith
 
 
 

Other books that could interest you

 
 
A Second Chance
 
Working it Out
 
A Family Again
 
Homecoming
 
Unveiled [The Revealed Series Book 3]
 
The Truth Club
 
Walking on Air
 
Crimson China
 
Heart of Glass
 
Not Quite Home
 
A Death for a Cause
 
Narrow Escape